Lucy Walker owns and operates TerryWhite Chemmart Goondiwindi, the 2017 Guild Pharmacy of the Year. She spent 7.5 weeks travelling around the world last year on a Churchill Fellowship looking at innovative pharmacy practices globally with the hope to integrate them into her own pharmacy and throughout Australia.

In the past 8 years she transformed the pharmacy to a health destination, with pharmacists always available for patients and specialising in sleep apnoea services, pain and vaccinations. Focusing on staff training and development, communication and improving processes, the team continues to grow the business whilst being a great work environment.

Lucy’s background in pharmacy includes studying at UQ, working for Boots the Chemist in the UK, being a clinical pharmacist at the Princess Alexander Hospital Brisbane and academic detailing to GPs, nurses and pharmacists for Health Workforce Queensland. She is an accredited pharmacist conducting Home Medicine Reviews.

Lucy loves rural pharmacy particularly collaborating with other health professionals to assist in the health of her community. She is the South West Queensland representative for the Queensland Guild Branch Committee and participates in events to encourage women and pharmacy students into pharmacy ownership and rural pharmacy, plus is on the advisory board of TerryWhite Chemmart.

About Seminar Series

The School of Pharmacy Seminar Series involves regular formal presentations of high-quality scholarly work with broad appeal.

The wider School community is invited to attend, including academic and professional staff, special guests, visitors, as well as HDR, postgraduate, masters and honours students.

Seminars are held on Fridays from 12pm–1pm in room 5034 in the Pharmacy Australia Centre of Excellence, 20 Cornwall St Woolloongabba (next to TRI and the PA Hospital).

Confirmed 2021 seminars

Date Presenter
12-1pm, Friday 19 March
(PACE R5034 and Zoom)
Professor Paul Clarke, Director Diamantina Institute        
12-1pm, Friday 16 April
(Zoom only)
Associate Professor Francine Marques, Monash University     
12-1pm, Friday 23 April
(Zoom only)
Associate Professor Ben Colagiuri, Sydney University 
12-1pm, Friday 7 May
(Zoom only)
Dr Laurence Cheung, Curtin University
12-1pm, Friday 30 July
(location TBC)
Dr Gary Chan, UQ CYSUR
12-1pm, Friday 13 August
(Zoom only)
Professor Sanjay Garg, University of South Australia
12-1pm, Friday 3 September
(PACE R5034 and Zoom)
Associate Professor Michael Barras, UQ Pharmacy
12-1pm 10 September
(Online via Zoom)

Professor Josephine Forbes, Mater Research


12-1pm, Friday 17 September
(PACE R5034 and Zoom)

Professor Nigel McMillan, Program Director: Infectious Diseases and Immunology, Menzies Health Institute QLD, Griffith University

12-1pm, Friday 24 September
(Location TBC)
Denuja Karunakaran, IMB Fellow, Institute for Molecular Bioscience (IMB), UQ