UQ Pharmacy takes helm of pharmacy schools council

21 Dec 2017

Professor Peter Little AM, Head of The University of Queensland’s School of Pharmacy has been elected president of the Council of Pharmacy Schools Australia and New Zealand (CPS).

The council represents eighteen pharmacy schools in Australia and two in New Zealand.

CPS held its annual general meeting alongside the annual scientific meeting of Australian Pharmaceutical Sciences Australia (APSA) at the Brisbane Convention Centre on 5 December, at which a new executive team was elected.

President: Professor Peter Little AM (The University of Queensland)

Vice-President:  Professor Debra Rowett (University of South Australia)

Treasurer: Associate Professor Michelle Bellingan (James Cook University)

The new executive team will aim to raise the profile of CPS and increase the involvement of tertiary education providers in the future of the pharmacy profession both in Australia and internationally.

New initiatives will include the development of a CPS website and wider brand refresh, increased interaction with relevant pharmacy organisations and stakeholders, exploration of advanced practice recognition, and the introduction of a set of standard priorities to be implemented by all pharmacy schools over a five-year period to ensure globally competitive performance.

Professor Little AM previously held the position of Liaison Representative for CPS, and Executive for APSA, but will step down from both of these roles to focus on his CPS presidency.

“I am immensely proud to be elected president of CPS and am very much looking forward to engaging with APSA and other stakeholders such as the Pharmacy Guild, to continue the great work being done to advance the pharmacy profession in Australia and internationally,” he said.

Media: UQ Communications, health.media@uq.edu.au